The 12 members of the Board of Directors are appointed by NBMCA's 10 member municipalities for a four-year term following each municipal election.  Representation on the board is based on the population of the municipality located within the watershed. 

NBMCA is a non-share corporation, established under Section 3 of the Conservation Authorities Act, with the objects to provide, in the area over which it has jurisdiction, programs and services designed to further the conservation, restoration, development and management of natural resources in watersheds in Ontario other than gas, coal and minerals.

Under the Act, municipalities within a common watershed can petition the province to establish a conservation authority.  NBMCA Board was formed in 1972.

Based on Section 2 (2) of the Conservation Authorities Act, the Participating Municipalities appoint the following number of members:
City of North Bay - 3 members
Municipality of Callander - 1 member
Municipality of Powassan - 1 member
Township of Chisholm - 1 member
Township of East Ferris - 1 member
Township of Bonfield - 1 member
Township of Calvin - 1 member
Township of Papineau – Cameron - 1 member
Town of Mattawa - 1 member
Township of Mattawan - 1 member

Board members authorize NBMCA’s programs and policies, which staff is responsible for implementing.  

The following Board Members have been appointed for the 2019-2022 term:

  • Dave Mendicino - North Bay (2020 Chair)
  • Dave Britton - Powassan (2020 Vice Chair)
  • Shelley Belanger – Papineau-Cameron Twp
  • Simon Blakeley - North Bay
  • Dean Grant - Calvin Twp
  • Michelle Lahaye - Mattawan Twp
  • Jane Lagassie - Bonfield
  • Chris Mayne - North Bay
  • Loren Mick - Mattawa
  • Rob Noon - Callander
  • Pauline Rochefort - East Ferris
  • Nunzio Scarfone - Chisholm Twp