The North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority is an oversight board for the local Drinking Water Source Protection process.

The North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority (SPA) coordinated the development of the Source Protection Plan (SP Plan) to protect the sources of five municipal drinking water systems in our watershed:  Callander, Mattawa, North Bay, Powassan and South River. 

The SPA is comprised of elected representatives from each of the member municipalities, including those from the Conservation Authority Board and some from municipalities that are only within the Source Protection Area. The SPA is tasked with selecting or approving members to sit on the Source Protection Committee, and reviewing and receiving comments on updates to the Assessment Report and Source Protection Plan.

The 2019-2022 Source Protection Authority Board members include:

  • Chris Mayne - North Bay (2019 Chair)
  • Dave Britton - Powassan (2019 Vice Chair)
  • Shelley Belanger – Papineau-Cameron Twp
  • Simon Blakeley - North Bay
  • Dean Grant - Calvin Twp
  • Michelle Lahaye - Mattawan Twp
  • Jane Lagassie - Bonfield
  • Tom Marchant - Nipissing
  • Dave Mendicino - North Bay
  • Loren Mick - Mattawa
  • Rob Noon - Callander
  • Pauline Rochefort - East Ferris
  • Nunzio Scarfone - Chisholm Twp
  • Marianne Stickland - Strong Twp
  • To be appointed - South River

For more information on the Drinking Water Source Protection program visit or the Drinking Water Source Protection Program section of the website. 

The next meeting of the Source Protection Authority is Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 5:30 pm at the NBMCA offices, 15 Janey Ave., North Bay. - Meeting Agenda