The 12 Members (Board of Directors) of the Conservation Authority are appointed by NBMCA's 10 member municipalities for a four-year term following each municipal election.  Representation on the board is based on the population of the municipality located within the watershed. 

NBMCA is a non-share corporation, established under Section 3 of the Conservation Authorities Act, with the objects to provide, in the area over which it has jurisdiction, programs and services designed to further the conservation, restoration, development and management of natural resources in watersheds in Ontario other than gas, coal and minerals.

Under the Act, municipalities within a common watershed can petition the province to establish a conservation authority.  NBMCA was formed in 1972.

Based on Section 2 (2) of the Conservation Authorities Act, the Participating Municipalities appoint the following number of members:
City of North Bay - 3 members
Municipality of Callander - 1 member
Municipality of Calvin - 1 member
Municipality of East Ferris - 1 member
Municipality of Mattawan - 1 member
Municipality of Powassan - 1 member
Town of Mattawa - 1 member
Township of Bonfield - 1 member
Township of Chisholm - 1 member

Township of Papineau – Cameron - 1 member

Board members authorize NBMCA’s programs and policies, which staff is responsible for implementing. 

Please note that Municipal elections were held in October 2022 and Member Municipal Councils will be appointing representatives to the NBMCA Board in November / December for the 2022-2026 term.  The Board will hold its AGM in January 2023.

The 2022-2026 Board members are listed below.    

  • Municipality of Powassan -  Dave Britton (2022 Chair)
  • City of North Bay - Peter Chirico
  • City of North Bay - Justine Mallah
  • City of North Bay - Lana Mitchell
  • Municipality of Callander - Irene Smit
  • Municipality of Calvin - Bill Moreton
  • Municipality East Ferris - Steve Trahan
  • Municipality of Mattawan - Michelle Lahaye
  • Town of Mattawa - Loren Mick
  • Township of Bonfield - Steve Featherstone
  • Township of Chisholm - Nunzio Scarfone
  • Township of Papineau-Cameron - Shelley Belanger